Art Community Forum | EBSQ Self-Representing Artis Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

RE: HELP! I can't save my description

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Official EBSQ Stuff] >> Tech Support >> RE: HELP! I can't save my description Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 4/7/2011 2:49:34 PM   
Guest
Ok, so it's the <ul> for unordered list then <li> for the bullet then the </ul> as the closing tag.

Thanks for that. I think I'l right the code like that with the desc. and just change according to the title of the artwork and such. Then I'll save it in Notepad so I don't have to keep making it new all the time.

The reason I was x'ing out of the box was because it was the only way I could go back to the main area to continue working. So I'll try, like you said, switching back to the regular mode instead of the html mode then click outside the text box before I close it. I'll work with all that now and let you know how it goes.

Thanks again.

(in reply to gillie)
  Post #: 21
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 4/7/2011 5:37:23 PM   
platypus


Posts: 4326
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: New Jersey
Status: offline
Amie,

I tried several times to center using html, everything after the first < center> just disappeared! Once I saw it in the preview but it was gone when I went to look for real.

_____________________________

Wibbley World Art Blog

(in reply to gillie)
Post #: 22
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 4/7/2011 6:58:32 PM   
imakeart


Posts: 5434
Joined: 6/9/2008
From: Athens, GA
Status: offline
Try putting the text you want to center between this code:

<div align="center">Centered Text</div>

_____________________________

Amanda :-)

web:www.amandamakepeace.com
deviantART:MakepeaceArt

(in reply to platypus)
Post #: 23
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 5/6/2011 3:31:15 PM   
Guest
I am still having trouble with entering my description in HTML form. No matter what I do, I can't get it to work. I am clicking outside the area that I worked on and switched from HTML to regular many many times and I still can't get it to work.
Does anyone know of any other workarounds to get my descriptions working?
I got them to work a while back but now that I'm into it again, it doesn't work anymore.
This is VERY FRUSTRATING!

(in reply to imakeart)
  Post #: 24
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 5/6/2011 3:38:21 PM   
gillie


Posts: 4552
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Status: offline
Can I ask what you're using to generate your code? I've found that MS Word includes a ton of junk code that might be confusing things.

If that's not your issue, here's the process again:

Click edit to edit your uploaded piece.
Go to your statement page for that piece.
Click to open your text editor.
If you're adding custom html, click the html button. Otherwise, we suggest using the rich editing tools.
Once you've pasted your html, click the html button to switch back to normal (rich editing) view.
Click on the white space above the white line where the text editor is. (this is above the line but below the tabs for other tasks for your art item)
This closes the editor and automatically saves your text

< Message edited by gillie -- 5/6/2011 3:43:59 PM >


_____________________________

Amie Gillingham
co-founder, EBSQ
web: http://www.ebsqart.com
blog: http://blog.ebsqart.com
twitter: http://twitter.com/ebsq
Get out of the vacuum and express yourself!

(in reply to Guest)
Post #: 25
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 5/6/2011 3:47:14 PM   
Guest
Ok, I was trying to edit an item I uploaded weeks ago when I got so frustrated, I quit working on it. So I went back to it today and tried to fix it...wouldn't work no matter what I did.
So I deleted the whole thing a started over and got it to work.
I don't try to use the MS thing here anymore. It works on other sites but not here.
Anyway, I finally got it work.

Thanks.

(in reply to gillie)
  Post #: 26
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 5/6/2011 4:33:53 PM   
gillie


Posts: 4552
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Status: offline
As in you were using MS Word for your code in the past? What are you using now?

Depending on what you're putting in your descriptions, you really shouldn't need code to format at all. The rich text editor (much like the one here on the forums) does the work for you.

< Message edited by gillie -- 5/6/2011 4:35:41 PM >


_____________________________

Amie Gillingham
co-founder, EBSQ
web: http://www.ebsqart.com
blog: http://blog.ebsqart.com
twitter: http://twitter.com/ebsq
Get out of the vacuum and express yourself!

(in reply to Guest)
Post #: 27
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 5/6/2011 4:52:21 PM   
Guest
No I wasn't using MS word. I only tried it once and it didn't work. In the recent past, I was using the HTML editor because I'm putting in Paypal buttons and using bullets to list features.
You can't use the rich text option to do that.

(in reply to gillie)
  Post #: 28
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 5/6/2011 5:00:12 PM   
gillie


Posts: 4552
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Status: offline
No, that's true. PayPal buttons do indeed require the html option. I'd suggest doing your text in the rich editor, then just switch to html view to insert the button.

I'm sorry it's causing you so much grief. We designed the tools to be easier for non-technical people. But apparently, it's causing a few of the more technical people headaches

_____________________________

Amie Gillingham
co-founder, EBSQ
web: http://www.ebsqart.com
blog: http://blog.ebsqart.com
twitter: http://twitter.com/ebsq
Get out of the vacuum and express yourself!

(in reply to Guest)
Post #: 29
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 5/6/2011 5:06:25 PM   
Guest
But I can't enter the text that I have been entering in the regular editor because it has bullets in it. So I'm doing it all using HTML.
I don't consider myself an expert, technically, but I would say I know enough to say that there is something very strange about how the description area is formatted.

(in reply to gillie)
  Post #: 30
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 5/6/2011 5:09:51 PM   
gillie


Posts: 4552
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Status: offline
Regarding your bullets: when Bill looked at your code the last time this was an issue, he said your bullets weren't actually bullets, which is why they weren't pasting as expected. How are/were you generating them?

_____________________________

Amie Gillingham
co-founder, EBSQ
web: http://www.ebsqart.com
blog: http://blog.ebsqart.com
twitter: http://twitter.com/ebsq
Get out of the vacuum and express yourself!

(in reply to Guest)
Post #: 31
RE: HELP! I can't save my description - 5/6/2011 5:13:45 PM   
Guest
I think when I first tried it, I was using MS word, then found out they wouldn't work. So I made the code in Adobe Golive and it generated the <li> coding for the bullets. I wish I knew how to make bullets in rich text so I can use it. But so far, using the code to do it is working ok.

(in reply to gillie)
  Post #: 32
Page:   <<   < prev  1 [2]
All Forums >> [Official EBSQ Stuff] >> Tech Support >> RE: HELP! I can't save my description Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts





EBSQ Artists GroupEBSQ Self Representing Artists - A division of EBSQ, LLC  Privacy Policy  Contact EBSQ
© 2000-2005 EBSQ, LLC - All rights reserved - Original artists retain All rights

Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.5.5 Unicode