EBSQ Self-Representing Artists Community Forum Forums  Register  Login  My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums 

Chat  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ  Ticket List  Log Out

ACEO website - legit?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Art-Specific Topics] >> ATC & ACEO (Artist Trading Cards) (public) >> ACEO website - legit? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
ACEO website - legit? - 3/1/2009 5:47:21 AM   
KingDavid


Posts: 309
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Bridgeport, CT
Status: offline
Hey guys .... I just listed my first ACEO on ebay recently. Here's the link to the auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=130290237263&ih=003&category=60437&ssPageName=WDVW&rd=1

Since this medium of delivering art to the masses has intrigued me a lot lately, my business-mindedness has me looking deeper & deeper into it's place in the art world. So I go on Verio.com & start looking up available web domains with the ACEO tag in them. I wonder how many people have already taken the good domains. Of course aceo. com is taken, aceo.net ... taken & so on. Now I go on to the different sites .... take a look what they are doing.

So I get to looking through aceo.net & I click on one of the links at the top left of the opening page (the last one) & it takes you to a page of ACEO's for sale. Holy crap! My ACEO that's listed on ebay is one of the displayed pictures. How can that be? I only listed it on ebay. Right? So I click on my ACEO's picture & it takes me to my ebay auction listing .... still in progress. Now here's that link:

http://aceo.net/shop.php?Cat=&Query=

So here's the questions: Is that legal? When I listed it on ebay, did I somehow agree that it can be used on another site ... one that may be an affiliate site or something? Am I crazy for caring? Am I being used or exploited. I mean, in essence, it's free advertising for me. And it's almost a compliment that someone would think that much about my ACEO, that they would put it on their site. On top of it, it has a bid & for all I know. it came from someone seeing it on that site.Please chime in on this one & give me any info that you might have. Any opinions & observations are also welcomed.

< Message edited by KingDavid -- 3/1/2009 5:55:55 AM >


_____________________________

Visual Shrapnel - Art that remains embedded in the viewers mind.

http://www.twitter.com/VisualShrapnel
      Post #: 1
RE: ACEO website - legit? - 3/1/2009 7:59:43 AM   
bromley2


Posts: 12904
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Clarion, Pa.
Status: online
Congratulations on the Bid, David!...........as far as the other site is concerned, I too think it is funny.  It seems like they are harvesting auctions because there is nothing on ebay that you would have clicked to put it there.  Yes, it is free advertising, but I would feel a bit strange that they had just lifted it and used it.  Maybe a polite email asking them what they are doing would be in order.

C

_____________________________

http://www.moondancedesign.com
EBAY
My Bonanzle Booth

(in reply to KingDavid)
     Post #: 2
RE: ACEO website - legit? - 3/1/2009 9:07:03 AM   
gillie


Posts: 3795
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Status: offline
I suspect it had nothing to do with you personally; it's merely a site that is displaying auctions from eBay that have the ACEO keyword and when people click through, they get an affilate's cut from eBay if the person who clicks bids on anything on eBay's site. There are literally thousands of sites out there that do this and they likely couldn't exclude you even if you asked them to because that's not how eBay's seach/API works. It's all perfectly legal, even if it seems a little weird.

_____________________________

Amie Gillingham
co-founder, EBSQ
web: http://www.ebsqart.com
blog: http://blog.ebsqart.com
twitter: http://twitter.com/ebsq
Get out of the vacuum and express yourself!

(in reply to bromley2)
   Post #: 3
RE: ACEO website - legit? - 3/1/2009 10:44:36 AM   
KingDavid


Posts: 309
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Bridgeport, CT
Status: offline
That's what my assumption was too Amie. I have been looking into affiliate listings / banners for artist suppliers & the like on my site as well. It only makes sense. The thing is, how much does ebay make on a $2.99 purchase .... 15 cents? So I would guess this guy made 2 cents on my listing.

On that note ... does EBSQ offer something like that for sign-ups?

_____________________________

Visual Shrapnel - Art that remains embedded in the viewers mind.

http://www.twitter.com/VisualShrapnel

(in reply to gillie)
      Post #: 4
RE: ACEO website - legit? - 3/1/2009 12:18:40 PM   
platypus


Posts: 2957
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: New Jersey
Status: offline
I'm curious about what determines which aceo's get posted there, is it random?

Actually I like their format better than ebay, it's easier to see the aceo's quickly.

_____________________________

Wibbley World Art Blog

(in reply to KingDavid)
      Post #: 5
RE: ACEO website - legit? - 3/1/2009 3:28:09 PM   
gillie


Posts: 3795
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: KingDavid

That's what my assumption was too Amie. I have been looking into affiliate listings / banners for artist suppliers & the like on my site as well. It only makes sense. The thing is, how much does ebay make on a $2.99 purchase .... 15 cents? So I would guess this guy made 2 cents on my listing.

On that note ... does EBSQ offer something like that for sign-ups?


Nope, we don't currently have an affiliate program for signups. It's an idea we've toyed with now and again, but it costs big bucks to buy into a program like that and right now, our resources are better off being used elsewhere.

/tangent

_____________________________

Amie Gillingham
co-founder, EBSQ
web: http://www.ebsqart.com
blog: http://blog.ebsqart.com
twitter: http://twitter.com/ebsq
Get out of the vacuum and express yourself!

(in reply to KingDavid)
   Post #: 6
RE: ACEO website - legit? - 3/3/2009 6:40:49 AM   
KingDavid


Posts: 309
Joined: 7/30/2005
From: Bridgeport, CT
Status: offline
Yes ... you've got enough on your plate, I can imagine.

_____________________________

Visual Shrapnel - Art that remains embedded in the viewers mind.

http://www.twitter.com/VisualShrapnel

(in reply to gillie)
      Post #: 7
RE: ACEO website - legit? - 5/9/2009 11:45:35 AM   
sunnyba8e


Posts: 2
Joined: 8/2/2007
From: Ohio
Status: offline
I believe that EBay uses RSS feeds from your listings. I enabled my RSS feed and my listings go all over the web to those sites that use these feeds.

(in reply to KingDavid)
Post #: 8
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Art-Specific Topics] >> ATC & ACEO (Artist Trading Cards) (public) >> ACEO website - legit? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts





EBSQ Artists GroupEBSQ Self Representing Artists - A division of EBSQ, LLC  Privacy Policy  Contact EBSQ
© 2000-2005 EBSQ, LLC - All rights reserved - Original artists retain All rights

Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.5.5 Unicode